Posted by: James | March 22, 2008

Putting a Face to Autism

When I started this blog I thought to call it “ourspecialkids.wordpress.com” was a fitting label.  I must admit the label was also politically correct in that it artificially softens the realities of autism and its effects on the lives of those who live it and those who care for them.  I now realize that for me to call these kids special was a bit patronizing on my part because it was easier for me to call them special (from a distance) without entering their world (if but for a moment) than it  was to spend time watching and experiencing the world of autism where a group of incredible people work tirelessly to enrich their lives. 
After I visited a local school that specializes in the treatment of children with disabilities this past Thursday morning I see things very differently.
I now can say with a great deal of confidence that children with disabilities are “our special kids.”  I saw kids who, in spite of the differences between them and so-called normal kids, are REAL kids who need to be challenged, educated, affirmed and loved.  They deserve all of the same educational (and other) opportunities as kids who are not challenged with disabling conditions.  I am convinced that we must as a society find ways to challenge all kids to fulfill their potential.  I also realize that I walked among greatness.  I saw individuals who rejoiced in the kids’ smallest victories.  I saw staffers including senior management that looked deeply into the eyes of these children and communicated love and worth on a level that transcends words.  This, my friends, was POWERFUL!!!  These professionals did not look through these kids they lovingly educated, pushed and celebrated them.  I saw kids who without verbalizing said thanks for believing in me.  There is nothing greater in this world than to tell and show a kid that he/she is valuable.   Implicit in everything they did at the school was a deep-seated belief that each of these kids possesses the ability to succeed and that on an individual basis each staffer was committed to doing what they could to make an indelible mark on the lives of these children. I am saddened however by the countless number kids who are in public school systems who will never experience this type of education.  And, as a result, will waste away in this land of opportunity and tremendous wealth. 
I wanted to share this experience in the hopes that what touched me in a way that I shall not soon forget, may serve as a call for others to increase awareness of autism and other disabling conditions and to increase sensitivity to the issues that these kids and those who love them face on a daily basis.

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for posting this! I needed to read it. This information gives me hope and encouragement for the younger generation.

    My daughter worked in a special education school and she would tell me what the employees were like. It was disheartening and discouraging. Thankfully not all schools are alike.

  2. […] need to be putting a face to autism that others are not […]

  3. Way to go James! You are one of the few who experience the real trenches of this silent epideminc called autism. I think what motivated you was you saw the right thing: kids getting a special education, not just “babysitting”. too bad we can’t put what you saw out on Utube!


Leave a comment

Categories